

Scientific Division (SD)

Chair

Prof. Philippe GILLERY

Service de Biochimie - Pharmacologie -Toxicologie Pôle de Biologie Médicale et Pathologie CHU de Reims Pôle de Biologie Territoriale 51092 Reims Cedex - FRANCE E-mail: pgillery@chu-reims.fr

Vice-Chair Prof. Christa M. COBBAERT

Clinical Chemist Head of the Department of Clinical Chemistry Leiden University Medical Center 2300 RC Leiden – THE NETHERLANDS E-mail: <u>C.M.Cobbaert@lumc.nl</u>

Secretary To be nominated

Members

Dr. Barnali DAS Consultant, Biochemistry & Immunology Division, Kokilaben Dhirubhai Ambani Hospital & Medical Research Institute, Mumbai-400053 - INDIA E-mail: <u>barnali.das@relianceada.com</u>

Dr. Konstantinos MAKRIS Clinical Biochemist Clinical Biochemistry Department KAT General Hospital Kifissia, Athens - GREECE E-mail: kostas.makris.l m@gmail.com

Prof. Mario PLEBANI

FIGL Marlo PLEDANI Full Professor of Clinical Biochemistry and Clinical Molecular Biology Chief Department of Laboratory Medicine University Hospital – Padova Dean of the Medical School University of Padova – ITALY E-mail: mario.plebani@unipd.it

Corporate Representative

Dr. Michael ROTTMANN Roche Diagnostics GmbH Director Assay Development Indication: Tyroid, Sepsis, RA, Growth Centralised and Point of Care solutions 82377 Penzberg - Germany e-mail: michael.rottmann@roche.com

European Commission -JRC Observer Dr. Heinz SCHIMMEL

Project Officer Directorate General Joint Research Centre **Reference Materials Unit** 2440 Geel - BELGIUM E-mail: heinz.schimmel@ec.europa.eu

ICHCLR Observer Dr. Greg MILLER

Professor of Pathology Co-Director of Clinical Chemistry Director of Pathology Information Systems Virginia Commonwealth University Health System Richmond, VA 23298-0286 - USA Email: greg.miller@vcuhealth.org

JCTLM Consultant Prof. Ian S.YOUNG Professor of Medicine Queen's University Belfast Email: <u>I.Young@qub.ac.uk</u>

NIBSC Consultant Dr. Chris BURNS PhD Head, Biotherapeutics Division National Institute for Biological Standards and Control - A Centre of the MHRA Hertfordshire, EN6 3QG, UK E-mail: Chris

NIFDC Observer Dr. Yang Zhen Deputy Director General National Institutes for Food and Drug Controls (NIFDC) - P.R. CHINA E-mail: yangzhen@nifdc.org.cn

NIST Consultant Dr. Karen W. PHINNEY Leader, Bioanalytical Science Group Biomolecular Measurement Division National Institute of Standards and Technology (NIST) Gaithersburg, MD 20899-8314 - USA E-mail: karen.phinney@nist.gov

From: Prof. Philippe Gillery – IFCC SD Chair

Date January 14th, 2021

Ref: 8.2.25 Call for Nominations for Membership of Committee on Standardization of Thyroid Function Tests (C-STFT)

To: **IFCC Full Member Societies' National Representatives IFCC Affiliate Societies' Representatives IFCC Corporate Members' Representatives**

Dear Colleagues,

The Committee on Standardization of Thyroid Function Tests (C-STFT), under the chairmanship of Dr. Hubert Vesper, intends to fill one vacant position.

The terms of reference and current projects of the C-STFT are as follows:

Terms of Reference

- Establish a system to maintain traceability of free thyroid hormone and TSH measurements.
- Coordinate programs to evaluate free thyroid and TSH assays with regards to their analytical performance.
- Develop reference intervals for free thyroid hormones and TSH.
- Liaise with key stakeholders to promote the use of the standardized assays in routine • clinical practice and public health, to ensure analytical performance requirements meet clinical needs, and to help with developing and establishing reference intervals

Current Projects

- Establish Reference Laboratory Network for free thyroxine (FT4) measurements.
- Implement standardization of FT4 assays and harmonization of thyroid stimulating hormone internationally.
- Coordinate the development of reference intervals using standardized/harmonized assays.
- Educate and engage stakeholders about the standardization/harmonization activities on a • national/regional level

Information on the current composition of the C-STFT and its activities are available on the IFCC Website at following link: https://www.ifcc.org/ifcc-scientific-division/sd-committees/c-stft/

More specific information can be obtained directly from Dr. Hubert Vesper (hvesper@cdc.gov).

Candidates would share their knowledge and expertise and assist in the design and execution of projects related to the terms of reference. This includes participation in conference calls (2-3 times per year), in in-person meetings at least once per year, and other forms of communications such as email. IFCC covers economy class travel expenses, hotel and ground transportation for the in-person meeting, accordingly to IFCC rules.

Nominations should be sent directly to the IFCC Office (paola.bramati@ifcc.org) by using the enclosed application form, before February 20th, 2021.

Following approval, the candidates will be appointed for a three-year term (commencing in March 2021). A second three-year term is allowed following satisfactory review at the end of the first term by the Scientific Division Executive Committee following consultation with the C-STFT Chairman.

Sincerely yours

Prof. Philippe Gillerv **Chair Scientific Division**